About SMU Law Review


SMU Law Review is the flagship journal of SMU Dedman School of Law and is a quarterly, general-interest, student-edited journal.  It was founded in 1947 under the name Texas Law and Legislation, then published under the name Southwestern Law Journal beginning in 1948, and it has been published as the SMU Law Review since 1992.

SMU Law Review reaches scholars, attorneys, and judges throughout the United States and abroad. Each issue includes articles by prominent legal scholars and practitioners dealing with significant questions of local, national, and international law. SMU Law Review also publishes ten articles by student members annually analyzing recent cases, statutes, and developments in the law.

SMU Law Review co-sponsors the annual Corporate Counsel Symposium, focusing on current developments in corporate law. This symposium attracts corporate practitioners, judges, and scholars from throughout the United States.

SMU Law Review is a publication of SMU Law Review Association (SMULRA).  SMULRA is a student-run organization at SMU Dedman School of Law comprised of approximately 100 second- and third-year law students.  Membership on SMULRA is highly competitive and is based on a combination of excellent academic achievement and superior performance on an annual Write On Competition.  For more information on the Write On Competition, click here.  Newly-selected members serve as Staff Editors for their first year of service.  Staff Editors participate by compiling sources, substantively verifying articles, editing text and citations, and authoring two publication-quality academic articles that analyze recent cases, statutes, and developments in the law. In their second year of service, students serve in various leadership roles as members of the Editorial Board.  Editorial Board members are responsible for the management and day-to-day operations of the journals, the symposia, and administration of the Association.  The President, Editors in Chief, and Managing Editors serve on the Executive Committee, which is the governing body of the Association.  To see a list of the current Journal Staff, click here.